Lanterns for Christmas

 

 

In my province in Pampanga, these lanterns would find their way during the Christmas season….People would cost them a lot just to have one displayed in their homes…but if you want to see more of these beautiful lanterns just visit San Fernando, Pampanga one of the greatest cities we have producing great lanterns….

I remember the “drama” I had with lanterns when I was younger^^….It was Simbang Gabi then and Noche Buena….The whole family except my late father went out to go to church for the Noche Buena mass….I was maybe 8 yrs old then and I was the only one left behind with my father coz they refused to wake me up because they said I was really so sleepy at that time….So when I woke up, they were already at the church….I went down the stairs crying….The more I even looked exactly like Bruce Lee then^_~from too much crying(sob sob T_T)….So my father was trying to pacify me….He told me to stop crying so what he did I remember was to point at me the beautiful lantern in our neighborhood….Although it was really hard for me to stop crying coz I really wanted to attend the Noche Buena mass….He sat beside me and told me about the lantern as the symbol of that light that had guided the three kings from finding the Child Jesus….and we just sat there for an hour and looked at that beautiful lantern….until I stopped crying….After that my father  promised me that no matter what they would take me to the mass during the Noche Buena^^….but, by just looking at the lantern I may say by now that somehow I was already part of the thanksgiving mass we have for the birth of the Child Jesus….

Leave a comment